Sciral Forum
August 24, 2019, 07:35:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Sciral Consistency for iPhone version 1.0.3 is now in the App Store, with support for iTunes File Sharing! http://bit.ly/uuIZaq

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linking Tasks?  (Read 10688 times)
kuritaro

View Profile
« on: August 26, 2005, 11:09:44 AM »

One thing I'd like to see (and if it's already there and I've missed it, please do let me know!) is the ability to link tasks. Specifically, I need to do task A every 2 to 3 weeks, depending on temperature, growth rates, etc. (I'm a biologist culturing samples). But I need to do task B exactly 3 days after completing task A, whenever that was.

I can go in and diddle the target date for task B every time, depending on when I completed A, but it would be nice to have Consistency do that for me. Of course, maybe I'm the only one out here in this situation....

Chris Jones
inspiritor

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 08:58:26 AM »

I second the request, but from a different perspective: I have task dependencies BEFORE a given task (as well as during).

To illustrate with a generic example, I have a vacation home that I wish to visit atleast 4 times per year. When I click on a date to indicate the beginning of a visit, dependencies 'activate', such as:

turn on electricity (1x, must be completed before arrival)

schedule propane deliveries (1x per month for each month of the visit, first delivery must be within 1st month of arrival)

take a 5-mile hike (atleast 1x per week)

reroute my mail (if visit is over 2 weeks)

turn off electricity upon leaving (1x)

etc.